Disclaimer : YRP may use photos taken at this event for marketing purposes. Please let the photographer or organiser at the event know if you do not wish for your photo to be used.

YRP West Mids: The Digital Railway

Event Start:
Event End:
Seat Available:
Type Of Event:
WSP - The Mailbox
Event Start Time:
5:30 PM
Date: 13/09/2019

Time: 5:30 - 6:30pm

Venue: WSP, Level 2, The Mailbox, Wharfside St, Birmingham, B1 1RT


Railways around the world are having a renaissance. In Britain, CrossRail is under construction, with an extension to the existing lines already planned. Work on HS2 is moving forward, with plans in place for HS3 and beyond, and extensions to the London Underground are also proposed.  The planned introduction of digital technologies to the British main line network has the potential to significantly improve capacity and customer satisfaction, while reducing energy consumption and whole life cycle costs. 


In this talk, Professor Clive Roberts, Director of the Birmingham Centre for Railway Research and Education (BCRRE), will present the Research being carried out at the University of Birmingham  underpinning the roll-out of innovative solutions in this area, which will improve railway systems in Britain, as well as developing a potentially strong export market, helping Britain to become a true world leader in digital railway technology.


Clive works with many organisations around the world, including: the UK’s Department of Transport, Network Rail, Deutsche Bahn, Singapore Land Transit Authority and Japan Central Railways. His research helps railway companies gain a better understanding of their existing systems and the appropriateness of new approaches and technology. The establishment of the Digital Systems Innovation Centre (DSIC) at the University of Birmingham will bring together existing academic and industry capabilities. It will innovate in new areas, supporting transformational change in rail technology across the globe.

Want to book tickets? Click here to login

Who's already attending.

Ewan Bray

Mohamed Samra

Ashraf Nsubuga

Sean McCabe

Mohanad Ismail

Serena Gough

Grace Thompson

Jonathan Kean


Andre Blackwood

Inge-Sarah Andersen

Muhammad Usman

Joe Cairns

Chris Oxford

Sean Brett

Rory Thompson

Ashvir Jagdev

Nikhil Pillai

David Chubb


Sonali Gupta

Samuel Owen

Prabhakar Mishra

Nathaniel Crawford

Alex Grant

Yung Lau


Alex Staines

Sam Havill


Abdul Burhani

Meeta Padhiar

Joe Hall

Lorraine Blanks

Manjot Singh

Rory Dunne


Neil Skipp