On Thursday evening the winners of the YRP Awards 2017 were announced at the YRP Annual Dinner, sponsored by CPC Project Services.

This year the awards were expanded to include Mentor of the Year, which was awarded to Andrew Pankhurst from Alstom, and Apprentice of the Year, which went to Annais Siddall from Linbrooke Services.

The winner of the coveted Young Rail Professional of the Year award was Daniel Harrison from Transport for London.

Each of the winners impressed the judges with their talent, commitment and enthusiasm for their careers and the rail industry.

The awards was presented in front of over 500 rail professional at this year’s spectacular event at the Troxy in London. The evening celebrated the past year in the rail industry and the opportunities ahead. Michele Dix, Managing Director of Crossrail 2, the key note speaker for the night, provided a passionate insight into the exciting Crossrail 2 project.

Paul Case, YRP Chair said: “Congratulations to our award winners and the finalists, the judges had some very hard decisions with such strong individuals. We were delighted to see so many excellent nominations this year for our awards who have shown their commitment and passion for the industry. We look forward to watching their careers go from strength to strength.

“This has been an amazing year for YRP as our membership has grown to over 5000. The Annual Dinner was the perfect time to celebrate our achievements and thank our corporate supporters for their continued backing to help us deliver our mission to promote, inspire and develop generations of young professionals in our industry.”

Steve Mole, CPC’s Managing Partner said: “Our relationship with the Young Rail Professional goes from strength to strength each year. Again, we are proud to sponsor YRP’s Annual Dinner and support them as they continue to encourage and nurture young professionals in the rail industry. YRP is an excellent organisation, dedicated to young professionals and their ongoing development, and we are delighted that so many of our staff are active members who are committed to building their careers in rail project management”

The award runners-up were:

  • YRP Mentor of the Year:
    • Andrew Fawkes, VolkerRail
    • Nikki Escreet, Northern Rail
  • YRP Apprentice of the Year
    • Reece Aspin, VolkerRail
    • Ahmed Arteh, Network Rail
  • Young Rail Professional of the Year
    • Amy Ellis, Atkins
    • Nicholas Boot-Handford, TfL


Mentor of the Year, Andrew Pankhurst from Alstom, was presented the award by Ian Johnson, Head of Profession, Rail, WSP Parsons Brinckerhoff.





Apprentice of the Year, Annais Siddall from Linbrooke Services was presented the award by Mark Wild, Managing Director, London Underground.





Young Rail Professional of the Year winner Daniel Harrison from Transport for London was presented his award from Steve Mole, Managing Partner, CPC Project Services.







Photo credit to Rail Alliance